WFN Committees

WFN Congress Committees and subcommittees

The World Congress of Neurology (WCN) is the biennial meeting of the WFN. Rotating from region to region, the destination of the WCN is voted by the WFN Council of Delegates. Each WCN needs to include regional and local aspects, and this must be reflected within the content as well as the selection of speakers.

The Congress Committee (CC) shall help the delegates decide which venue would be most suited for a successful meeting in the region by site-visiting and presenting reports to the Council of Delegates.

WCN 2023 will be held in Montreal in Canada, co-hosted by the Canadian Neurological Society (CNS).

WFN Congress Committee

Chair: Steven Lewis (USA)
Vice-Chair: Marianne De Vissser (Netherlands)

Role Name Country
WFN President Wolfgang Grisold Austria
WFN Congress Committee Chair Steven Lewis USA
WFN Congress Committee Vice chair Marianne De Vissser Netherlands
WFN Treasurer Richard Stark Australia
WCN 2023 Congress President Guy Rouleau Canada
CNS Representative Anne-Louise Lafontaine Canada
WCN 2023 SPC Chair Matthew Kiernan Australia
WCN 2023 TC Committee Chair Riadh Gouider Tunisia
WCN Past Congress President Antonio Federico Italy
WFN Secretary General To be confirmed after Councicil of Delegates Meeting 2022


WCN 2023 Congress Organising Committee

Role Name Country
Congress President Guy Rouleau Canada 
WFN President Wolfgang Grisold Austria 
WFN Congress Committee Chair Steven Lewis USA 
WFN Congress Committee Vice Chair Marianne De Visser  Netherlands
WFN Treasurer Richard Stark Australia
WFN Trustee Alla Guekht Russia
WFN Scientific Program Committee Chair Matthew Kiernan Australia
Local Scientific Programme Committee Co-Chair Alex Henry-Bhargavar Canada 
WFN Teaching Course Committee Chair Riadh Gouider  Tunisia 
Local Teaching Course Committee Co-Chair Morris Freedman Canada 
Country WFN Delegate Alex Henry-Bhargavar Canada 
Chair Local Social Program Committee Karine Garneau  Canada 
Chair Local Finance Committee Steven Peters  Canada 


Scientific Programme Committee (SPC)

WFN Scientific Programme

Chair: Matthew Kiernan (Australia)

Name Region
Matthew Kiernan (Chair) Australia 
Alex Henry-Bhargavar (Co-Chair) Canada 
Chris Kennard  Europe
Daniel Truong USA 
Didier Leys Europe
Eva Feldman   USA 
Gallo Diop Africa
Gordon Smith  USA 
Lawrence Tucker (SA)        Africa
Maghed Abdel Nasser Pan Arab
Maria Benabdelgil   Pan Arab 
Mary Reilly       Europe
Njideka Okubadejo (Nig)  Africa 
Pamela McCombe  Asia 
Renato Verdugo   Latin America
Ryuji Kaji Asia 
Saeed Bohlega  Pan Arab
Teresa Corona  Latin America



Local Scientific Programme Committee (LSPC)

CNS Scientific Programme

Chairs: Alex Henry-Bhargavar (Canada) and Morris Freedman (Canada)

Committee Members to be announced


Regional Directors

Committee member Country Region
Orly Avitzur USA North America
Augustina Charway-Felli Ghana Africa
Hamidon Bin Basri Malaysia Asia-Oceania
Claudio Bassetti Switzerland Europe
Marco T Medina Honduras Latin America
Maged Abdel Naseer Tunisia Pan Arab


Teaching Courses Committee (TCC)

WFN Teaching Course Committee

Chair: Riadh Gouider

Name Region
Riadh Gouider (Chair) Pan Arab
Morris Freedman (Co-Chair) North America
Dmitry Tumurov   Europe 
Jerome Chin  USA 
Minerva Lopez Latin America 



Local Organising Committee (LOC)

CNS Teaching Course Committee

Committee Members to be announced


Tournament Committee

WFN Tournament of the Minds Committee

Committee Members to be announced


CNS Tournament of the Minds Committee

Committee Members to be announced


Social Programme Committee

Chair: Karine Garneau (Canada)

Committee Members to be announced


WFN Education (Core) Sub-Committees

WFN Education Sub-Committee


Chair: Prof. Walter Struhal


Committee member Region
Walter Struhal (Chair) Europe (Austria)
Chiu Man Ex Officio
Daniel Gams Massi Pan-Africa (Cameroon)
Laura Druce (WFN Office) Ex Officio
Maria Benabdeljlil Pan-Arab (Morocco)
Riadh Gouider Pan-Africa (Tunisia)
Surat Tanprawate Asia-Ocenia (Thailand)
Tissa Wijeratne Asia-Oceania (Australia)
Wolfgang Grisold (President) Ex Officio


The objective of the WFN e-Communications Committee is to broadcast news from the World Federation of Neurology and outstanding worldwide neurological developments, including links, reports, and interviews. Our responsibility encompasses WFN's online footage with this website, WFN facebook, WFN twitter, and WFN linkedin. In addition, we coordinate online broadcasts and promotion from all publications of the World Federation of Neurology.