WFN Medals – The Medal for Service to International Neurology

Nominations may be made by WFN member societies or by individual members of a Member Society; they should be seconded by at least five neurologists, at least three of whom should be from other WFN member societies.

The nominated individual should have approved his or her nomination and the principal proposer should write a citation of no more than 300 words in support of the nomination. The Medal Committee will be made up of the current President of the WFN and either two of his predecessors or two WFN Trustees of the President's choice.

The medal will be awarded during the next World Congress of Neurology.



Award Recipients


Bhim Sen Singhal


Dr Bhimsen Singhal (India)


Professor Vladimir Hachinski


Prof. Vladimir Hachinski (Canada)


Professor Mustapha El Alaoui Faris


Prof. Mustapha El Alaoui Faris (Morocco)


Professor Jun Kimura


Prof. Jun Kimura (Japan)


Professor Michel Dumas


Prof. Michel Dumas (France)

Read award citation >



Johan Aarli.jpg


Prof. Johan Aarli (Norway)

Read award citation >



Lord John Walton of Detchant


Lord Walton of Detchant (UK)




Dr Noshir Wadia


Dr Noshir Wadia (India)