WFN Committees

WFN Congress Committees and subcommittees

The World Congress of Neurology (WCN) is the biennial meeting of the WFN. Rotating from region to region, the destination of the WCN is voted by the WFN Council of Delegates. Each WCN needs to include regional and local aspects, and this must be reflected within the content as well as the selection of speakers.

The Congress Committee (CC) shall help the delegates decide which venue would be most suited for a successful meeting in the region by site-visiting and presenting reports to the Council of Delegates. As of now, WCN 2023 will be held in Montreal in Canada, and the candidates for WCN 2025 are kindly requested to bid from the Asian-Oceanian region.

WFN Congress Committee

Chair: Ryuji Kaji

Role Name Country
WFN President William Carroll Australia
WFN Vice-President and Congress Committee Chair Ryuji Kaji Japan
WFN Secretary General and Congress Committee Vice chair Wolfgang Grisold UAE 
WFN Treasurer Richard Stark Australia
WCN 2021 Congress President Antonio Federico Italy
WCN 2021 SPC Chair Chris Kennard UK
WFN Trustee and WCN 2021 TC Committee Chair Steve Lewis USA
WCN Past Congress President Suhail Abdulla Al Rukn UAE 


Congress Patron: Prof. Leontino Battistin

Professor of Neurology at the University of Padua, Former Director of the Neurological Clinic and of the Department of Neuroscience of the University of Padua. Former Vice-President of the World Federation of Neurology.


WCN 2021 Congress Organising Committee

Role Name Country
Congress President Antonio Federico Italy
WFN President William Carroll Australia
WFN Vice-President and Congress Committee Chair Ryuji Kaji Japan
WFN Secretary General and Congress Committee Vice Chair Wolfgang Grisold Austria
WFN Treasurer Richard Stark Australia
WFN Trustee Alla Guekht Russia
WFN Scientific Program Committee Chair Chris Kennard United Kingdom
Local Scientific Programme Committee Chair Gioacchino Tedeschi Italy
WCN Teaching Course Committee Co-Chair and WFN Trustee Steven Lewis USA
Local Teaching Course Committee Co-Chair Alfredo Berardelli Italy
Country WFN Delegate Bruno Giometto Italy
Chair Local Social Program Committee Antonio Federico Italy
Chair Local Finance Committee Gianluigi Mancardi Italy


Scientific Programme Committee (SPC)

WFN Scientific Programme

Committee Member Country
Chris Kennard( Chair ) UK
Gioacchino Tedeschi (Co-Chair) Italy
Amadou Gallo Diop Senegal
Bo Norrving Sweden
Chandrashekar Meshram India
Daniel Truong USA
Emilio Perruca Italy
Francisco Cardoso Brazil
John England  USA
Lawrence Wong   Hong Kong
Marianne De Visser   The Netherlands
Matthew Kiernan Australia
Ryuji Kaji Japan
Saeed Bohlega Saudi Arabia
Terrence Cascino USA


Local Scientific Programme Committee (LSPC)

SIN Scientific Programme

Chair: Gioacchino Tedeschi

Committee Member Country
Gioacchino Tedeschi (Chair) Italy
Carlo Ferrarese Italy
Claudio Bassetti Switzerland
Fabrizio Tagliavini Italy
Francesco Di-Lorenzo Italy
Giuseppe Vita Italy
Leonardo Lopiano Italy
Maria Trojano Italy
Marie Vidallhiet France
Massimo Filippi Italy
Nicola De Stefano Italy
Paolo Calabresi Italy
Roberto Eleopra Italy
Sandro Sorbi Italy


Regional Directors

Committee member Country Region
James C. Stevens (Chair) USA North America
Foad Abd-Allah Egypt Africa
Beomseok Jeon Korea Asia-Oceania
Claudio Bassetti Switzerland Europe
Marco Medina Honduras Latin America
Chokri Mhiri Tunisia Pan-Arab


Teaching Courses Committee (TCC)

WFN teaching Course Committee

Chair: Steve Lewis

Committee Member Country
Steve Lewis (Chair) North America
Elza Yacubian South America
Isabel Illa Europe
Liying Cui Asia-Oceania
Mustapha El Alaoui Faris PAUNS
Natalya Tcinzerling Europe
Nazha Birouk PAUNS
William Carroll Asia-Oceania
Yoshikazu Ugawa Asia-Oceania


Local Organising Committee (LOC)

SIN Teaching Course Committee

Chair: Alfredo Berardelli

Committee Member Country
Alfredo Berardelli (Chair) Italy
Adriano Chio Italy
Alessandro Padovani Italy
Antonio Uccelli Italy
Davide Pareyson Italy
Gabriele Siciliano Italy
Gebbarina Arabia Italy
Giancarlo Logroscino Italy
Mario Zappia Italy
Pietro Cortelli Italy
Stefano Cappa Italy
Umberto Aguglia Italy
Valeria Caso Italy


Tournament Committee

WFN Tournament of the Minds Committee

Chair: Nicholas Davies

Committee Member Country
Nicholas Davies (Chair) Australia
Andrea Vass Austria
Faouzi Belahsen Morocco
Ricardo Fardic Chile
Richard Stark Australia
Takashi Kanda Japan


SIN Tournament of the Minds Committee

Chair: Gianluigi Mancardi

Committee Member Country
Gianluigi Mancardi (Chair) Italy
Antonio Toscano Italy
Maria Pia Amato Italy
Serenalla Servidei Italy


Social Programme Committee

Chair: Antonio Federico

Antonio Federico (chair)
Alfredo Berardelli (Co-Chair )
Barbara Frati (SIN PCO Member)
Bruno Giometto
Gioacchino Tedeschi
Gianluigi Mancardi
Leandro Provinciali
Lentino Battastin