WFN Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Council of Delegates Meeting 2024

The 2024 Annual General Meeting of the World Federation of Neurology and Council of Delegates will take place on  Wednesday, 25th September 2024.  The meeting will held entirely virtually. 

WFN Elections 2024

On 1st March, 2024, the Nominating Committee of the WFN invited member societies to put forward candidates for nomination for the position of one Elected Trustee (three-year term).

Invitations to register to attend the AGM COD Meeting and to vote will be sent out the week beginning Monday, 24th June 2024.

Voting will take place from Monday, 26 August to Friday 13th September 2024. Click here for more information on the WFN e-voting process.


WFN Elections 2023 Results

The results of the WFN 2023 Election were announced at the Annual General Meeting of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN) and Council of Delegates meeting which took place on Sunday 15th October, 2023.

The WFN would like to thank all the candidates who stood for election and for their continued commitment to the WFN. 


4-year term to take office from January 1st, 2024

Prof. Morris Freedman

Prof. Morris Freedman

Elected Trustee

3-year term to take office immediately

Prof. Mohammad Wasay

Mohammad Wasay

We congratulate Prof. Freedman and Prof. Wasay on their new appointments.


Announcement of the World Congress of Neurology 2027 Hosting Venue

Dr Lawrence Tucker
Dr Lawrence Tucker.

The venue for WCN 2027 is Cape Town, South Africa hosted by the Neurological Association of South Africa (NASA).

The announcement comes after rigorous assessment by the WFN Permanent Congress Committee of three bids submitted by member societies from the Africa & Pan Arab Regions.  Following the withdrawal of two of the candidates, member societies were asked to signal their approval of the Cape Town as the venue for WCN 2027 as part of the online ballots.  The bid was formally presented by Dr Lawrence Tucker on behalf of NASA.

The selection of Cape Town, South Africa received 94% approval by the voting Council of Delegates.