World Congress of Neurology (WCN)


Kyoto, Japan
Information to follow


Santiago, Chile
Information to follow

XXI WCN 2013

21 - 26 September 2013  |  Vienna, Austria
Click here for more information

XX WCN 2011 - With Africa, For Africa

12 - 17 November 2011  |  Marrakesh, Morocco 
Click here for more information 

XIX WCN 2009 – Innovation in Neurology

24 - 30 October 2009  |  Bangkok, Thailand, hosted by The Neurological Society of Thailand
Click here for more information 


Past International and World Neurological meetings

  1907 Amsterdam, the Netherlands


1st 1931 Berne, Switzerland President: Dr Bernard Sachs; Vice President: Sir Charles Sherrington; Secretary-General: Dr Henry Alsop Riley
2nd 1935 London, U.K. President: Dr (later Sir) Gordon Holmes; Honorary President: Dr Bernard Sachs; Secretary-General: Dr Samuel Alexander Kinnier Wilson
3rd  1939 Copenhagen, Denmark President: Professor Viggo Christiansen; Honorary President: Dr Bernard Sachs; 2nd Honorary President: Sir Charles Sherrington; 3rd Honorary President: Dr (later Sir) Gordon Holmes); 11 Vice-Presidents (incl. Dr Ludo van Bogaert)
4th  1949 Paris, France  
5th  1953 Lisbon, Portugal President: Dr António Flores; Secretary-General: Dr Almeida Lima); Honorary Presidents: Sir Gordon Holmes, Dr Georges Charles Guillain, Dr André-Thomas, Dr Théophile Alajouanine, Dr Egas Moniz
6th 1957 Brussels, Belgium  
7th 1961 Rome, Italy President: Mario Gozzano; Vice President: H.Houston Merritt; Secretary: Giovanni Alema
8th 1965 Vienna, Austria President: Hans Hoff; Vice-President: Franz Seitelberger; Secretary: Helmuth Tschabitscher
9th 1969 New York, USA  President:  H. Houston Merritt; Secretary-General: Melvin D. Yahr.  Treasurer: Morris B. Bender
10th 1973 Barcelona, Spain President: A. Subirana; Vice-President: I. Barraquer Bordas; Secretary: J.M. Espadaler
11th 1977 Amsterdam, the Netherlands  President: W.A. den Hartog Jager; Secretary: George Bruyn; Treasurer-General: A.P.J.Heijstee.
12th 1981 Kyoto, Japan President: S. Katsuki; Secretary-General: Tadao Tsubaki
13th 1985 Hamburg, Germany President: Klaus Poeck; Vice President: H. Gänshirt.; General Secretary: H-G. Mertens
14th 1989 New Delhi, India  President: Eddie P. Bharucha; Secretary-General: Jagjit Chopra
15th 1993 Vancouver, Canada  President: Henry Barnett; Secretary-General: Donald W. Paty
16th 1997 Buenos Aires, Argentina  President: Salomon Muchnik; Secretary: Leonor Gold; Treasurer: Lorenzo Bauso Toselli; Chairman of the Scientific Programme Committee: Roberto Sicca
17th 2001 London, UK  President: Ian MacDonald; Secretary: Christopher Kennard
18th 2005 Sydney, Australia President: William Carroll; Secretary-General: Geoffrey Donnan; Chairman of the Scientific Program Committee: Sam Berkovic
19th 2009 Bangkok, Thailand President: Niphon Poungvarin; Chairman: Kammant Phanthumchinda; Secretary-General: Somsak Laptikultham; Treasurer: Somchai Towanabut
20th 2011 Marrakesh, Morocco 

President: Mostafa El Alaoui Faris; 1st Vice-President: Chafiq Hicham; 2nd Vice-President: Mohamed Yahyaoui; Secretary: Maria Benabdeljil

21st 2013 Vienna, Austria  President: Prof Eduard Auff


Terms of access

All material is provided here with kind permission of the speakers. Recordings may have been edited for brevity and otherwise as requested by the speaker. Recordings are provided solely to healthcare professionals for informational and educational purposes. By accessing these recordings, you agree to our Terms and Conditions of use. You may not use this Service if you do not accept the Terms.