Nam Jong Paik

Recent Technology Adoption in Stroke Neurorehabilitation


Professor Dr Nam-Jong Paik

Nam-Jong Paik, MD, PhD, is a Professor in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine at Seoul National University College of Medicine and at Seoul National University Bundang Hospital. He obtained his M.D. from Seoul National University and completed his Ph.D. in preventive medicine at the same institution, in addition to residency training in rehabilitation medicine at Seoul National University Hospital. He also completed a 2-year clinical fellowship in neurorehabilitation and clinical neurophysiology at SNUH, as well as a visiting fellowship at the Human Cortical Physiology Section of the NIH/NINDS in the US.

Dr. Paik has held various administrative positions at the hospital, including President & CEO, Chief Public Health Officer, Chief Finance & Strategic Officer, Chief Communications Officer, Director of the Referral Center, and the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine. At the medical college, he served as Chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine.

Dr. Paik is currently the President-Elect of the World Federation for NeuroRehabilitation and serves as the editor for the 'Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine.' He is also a member of the National Academy of Medicine of Korea and sits on the board of directors for the Korean Society for NeuroRehabilitation, the Korean Geriatric Society, and the Korean Telemedicine Society. In the past, he served as the member-at-large of the World Federation for NeuroRehabilitation, the first president of the Asia-Oceanian Society for NeuroRehabilitation, and the Chair of the Korean Society for NeuroRehabilitation.

Dr. Paik's contributions to the field have been recognized with several awards, including the 2019 Seok-Jeon Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2014 Scientific Award from the Korean Academy of Rehabilitation Medicine. He also received the Fletcher H. McDowell Award from the American Society for Neurorehabilitation in 2007 and the First Place Poster Award from the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine in 2009.