Professor Tissa Wijertne was among health professionals from across Victoria, Australia, honoured on Saturday night at the inaugural AMA Victoria Awards, recognising and celebrating outstanding achievements and significant contributions made by individuals in the pursuit of excellent healthcare in Victoria and the Australian health system.

Professor Wijeratne was delighted to win the 2019 Priscilla Kincaid-Smith Award awarded to senior doctors who have undertaken pioneering work in medical practice, education or research, preventative health or patient advocacy.

Prof Wijeratne is Chair of the WFN Public Awareness & Advocacy Committee, and Chief of the Neurology Department, University of Melbourne and Western Health’s Sunshine Hospital.


Read more